Standing committees meet throughout the year. 


Chair: Michelle Famula, MD

The Healthcare Committee is an active, ongoing group that meets regularly (every other Tuesday 2:00PM-3:30PM) to stay up to date on developments in County, State and Federal Healthcare policy and legislation. The committee identifies and explores public policy, industry practices and legislative regulations that impact local community access to care.

The committee works with the Board of Directors and State and National Leagues to educate voters regarding important healthcare issues and positions taken by candidates and advocacy groups, and to promote League health system reform positions.

We welcome members interested in helping to create an educated electorate that is prepared to vote for healthcare reform that supports quality patient care access and promotes community health.


Chair: Open Position

The Housing Committee focuses on housing, homelessness and land use issues, to understand how housing accessibility and affordability impact our local community, our diverse populations and the environment. The committee meets with county and city officials, industry representatives and local advocates educate our membership and voters current state and local housing requirements, understand local issues, and stay abreast of local general plan efforts. We also collaborate with the State League of Women Voters on housing and homelessness issues. In 2019-20, the Housing Committee convened three educational forums on planning, housing and land use. 

Observer Corps

Chair: Nicki Neff

The Observer Corps duties are to observe local government boards, commissions, and committees in order to report on local issues and initiatives to our Board and Membership at monthly meetings. This committee observe meetings in-person or virtually via livestreams and Zoom calls.

Voter Registration

Chair: Judy Higgerson

The Voter Registration Committee is a dynamic and vital function of the Davis Area League of Women Voters. The committee coordinates with the Board of Directors and Voter Services Committee to inform, educate, and register voters. In the near future, the committee will be collaborating with the Yolo County Elections Department to promote Vote by Mail.

Your interest and enthusiasm are welcomed! Please contact Judy Higgerson for meeting dates and times.

Voter Service

Chair: Bob Fung

The Voter Service committee is especially active as we approach the November 2020 Election. The committee inform voters on election matters in a nonpartisan manner. The committee sponsors candidate forums and develops pro/con presentations for ballot measures. Our committee has a close working relationship with the Voter Registration committee.

We need your help! We usually meet every other Wednesday from 3:00PM to 4:00PM (subject to change).